Eva James Award

Each year since 1999, the WOCRC has honoured one of our dedicated volunteers with the Eva James Award.

About the Eva James Award

The Eva James Award was designed to recognize a volunteer who best personifies the commitment and dedication exemplified by Eva James, a devoted, active woman who enthusiastically volunteered in our community for over 15 years. She passed away suddenly in 1995.

Eva was one of the key volunteers who helped to form and implement our community resource centre. She was a strong supporter of the Kanata Food Cupboard and devoted a lot of her time to helping them.

Eva seldom missed an opportunity to attend community events such as the Girl Guide Spring Tea or Canada Day celebrations in Kanata and Bridlewood.

In her capacity as City Councillor, in addition to her many volunteer endeavours, Eva seized every opportunity to enhance our community.

She was involved with the OC Transpo committee, establishing park areas, fighting for street intersections and safety among many other projects – big and small.

Ruth Willsher, 2015-2016 Eva James Award Recipent

Ruth Willsher has volunteered for the Ontario Early Years Centre – Carleton for almost 11 years. She is often a parent’s first contact with the WOCRC. Her soft and inclusive demeanor is what greets the parents as they come in to programs. In the fall of 2015, she enthusiastically offered to help out at the Homework Club program as it was in desperate need of volunteers. Ruth’s dedication, kindness, reliability, positive attitude and punctuality are part of what makes her an outstanding volunteer. 

All Eva James Award Winners

The following volunteers have been honoured with the Eva James Award:

  • 2016-2017 Richard Greene and Bob Hurry
  • 2015-2016 Ruth Willsher
  • 2014-2015 Atif Malam 
  • 2013-2014 Robert McGaraughty 
  • 2012-2013 Anne Marie Goodman
  • 2011-2012 Brigitte Sharma
  • 2010-2011 Doreen Reynolds 
  • 2009-2010 Terry Longhorn
  • 2008-2009 Leona Spencer
  • 2007-2008 Jean-Pierre Beaulne
  • 2006-2007 Bruce Cairns
  • 2005-2006 Judy Bowyer
  • 2004-2005 J. Warner Eakins
  • 2003-2004 Dave Anderson
  • 2002-2003 Minoo Taherzadeh
  • 2001-2002 Kerri Bjornson
  • 2000-2001 Mary Nute
  • 1999-2000 Trudy Muller
  • 1998-1999 Dee Campbell
Thank you to all our volunteers for making an outstanding contribution to the WOCRC and enhancing our community!